Methodological approaches

Life course analysis

An integrated approach to life courses and their socioeconomic contexts will be the basic methodological reference for the project’s two thematic strands. This means tracking a person’s life course by recording all the information needed to describe and understand their trajectory. Starting from the individual as the unit of observation does not mean neglecting family groups, social groups, networks or institutions. On the contrary, the idea is to identify, throughout the life course, the series of conjunctions that shape individual trajectories.

This principle has been widely applied in recent research. The themes covered extend beyond demographic characteristics alone to include , for example, the health behaviours, HIV-status or administrative situation of migrants. It has been progressively refined by collecting new data and perfecting the analysis methods, particularly with the development of multi-level models.


International comparative methods.

This focus on combined analysis of the context in which life courses are played out and of the characteristics specific to individuals is the overarching theme of the iPOPs project. As regards contextual factors, an international perspective will be central. This approach will also shed light more specifically on the role of public policy in shaping individuals’ life courses. The institutional context in which individuals follow their life course is shaped largely by public policy and the social security system. The iPOPs project will examine the effects of family policy, equal opportunities policy, pension reform, health, dependence and disability policies on individual behaviours and social transformation.

The use of longitudinal data will make it possible to identify the directions of causality by rigorously combining individual and contextual data and by using international comparisons (as harmonized as possible), both in establishing the data and in exploiting it.

Méthodologie

Analyser les parcours de vie

Les recherches s’appuient  sur la réalisation de grandes cohortes sociales à visée comparative, en particulier l’enquête longitudinale GGS (Generations and Gender Survey) - complétée par la cohorte ELFE pour la situation des enfants depuis la naissance - et l’enquête Famille et logements, axée pour sa part sur l’obtention des données de cadrage.

Une approche intégrée des parcours de vie et de leurs contextes socio‐économiques sera la référence méthodologique de base pour les deux axes thématiques du projet. Il s’agit de suivre pas à pas un individu tout au long de son « parcours de vie » (life course), en recueillant l’ensemble de l’information permettant de décrire sa destinée et de la comprendre. L’idée est d’identifier, au long du parcours, la série des interférences qui infléchissent son destin. Les thématiques abordées vont au‐delà des seules caractéristiques démographiques pour intégrer par exemple les comportements de santé, le statut sérologique ou la situation administrative des migrants

Comparer à l’international

En matière de contexte des parcours de vie, les mises en perspective internationale jouent un rôle central. Ces approches permettent de mettre plus spécifiquement l’accent sur le rôle des politiques publiques dans l’infléchissement des trajectoires individuelles. Le contexte institutionnel dans lequel vivent les individus étudiés dans leurs parcours de vie tient, en effet, largement aux politiques publiques et au système de protection sociale.

En la matière, les politiques familiales, celles d’égalité des droits entre hommes et femmes, les réformes dusystème de retraite, les politiques de santé, la prise en charge de la dépendance, la compensation du handicap, sont autant de domaines qu’iPOPs analysera au regard de l’évolution des comportements individuelles et des transformations des sociétés.Le recours à des données de type longitudinal permettra de démêler le sens des causalités, grâce à la combinaison rigoureuse de données individuelles et de données contextuelles et à la mise en place de comparaisons internationales aussi harmonisées que possible, aussi bien dans la construction des données que dans leur exploitation.